segunda-feira, 2 de maio de 2016

Naval Cross Medal

Medalha da Cruz Naval

The NAVAL CROSS MEDAL, created in October, 11th, 1985, awards military and civilian personnel, national or foreign, who reveal, technically and professionally, high competence, extraordinary performance and relevant personal qualities, significantly contributing to the efficiency, prestige and fulfilment of the mission of the Portuguese Navy.

The following criteria apply for each of the classes:

1st CLASS: Generals/Admirals, Colonels/Captains
2nd CLASS: Commander/Lieutenant-Colonel or Lieutenant-Commander/Major
3rd CLASS: other officers and Sargent-Major
4th CLASS: other NCO and Enlisted

OBVERSE: white cross patée embroidered in gold, with the Navy emblem in the center, over two ancient cross swords, in gold;
REVERSE: plain, gold.

The distinction between classes is as it follows:
1st CLASS – neck ribbon; or gold anchor device w/ laurel on ribbon; 
2nd CLASS – gold anchor device on ribbon;
3rd CLASS – silver anchor device on ribbon;
4th CLASS – copper anchor device on ribbon.

- It's one of the first five private decorations, one for each branch of the Armed Forces, created in 1985, and that precede the Medal of the Cross of St. George, in 2000, and the National Defence Medal, in 2002.


- Decreto-Lei n.º 316/2002 de 27 de Dezembro - Regulamento da Medalha Militar e das Medalhas Comemorativas das Forças Armadas.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário