segunda-feira, 2 de maio de 2016

D. Afonso Henriques Medal, Patron of the Army

Medalha de D. Afonso Henriques - Mérito do Exército

The D. AFONSO HENRIQUES MEDAL - PATRON OF THE ARMY, created in October, 11th, 1985, awards military and civilian personnel, national or foreign, which reveal, technically and professionally, high competence, extraordinary performance and relevant personal qualities, significantly contributing to the efficiency, prestige and fulfilment of the mission of the Portuguese Army.

The following criteria apply for each of the classes:
1st CLASS: Generals/Admirals, Colonels/Captains
2nd CLASS: Commander/Lieutenant-Colonel or Lieutenant-Commander/Major
3rd CLASS: other officers and Sargent-Major
4th CLASS: other NCO and Enlisted

OBVERSE: the rounded sign of D. Afonso Henriques, from 1183;
REVERSE: a rampant lion, with a sword on its right paw, encircled by the words “MÉRITO DO EXÉRCITO” (Merit of the Army), in elzevir font.

The distinction between classes is as it follows:

1st CLASS – gold; neck ribbon; or rosette over ribbon with 0,018 m;
2nd CLASS – silver; rosette over ribbon with 0,015 m;
3rd CLASS – silver; rosette over ribbon with 0,013 m;
4th CLASS – silver; no rosette.

It's one of the first five private decorations, one for each branch of the Armed Forces, created in 1985, and that precede the Medal of the Cross of St. George, in 2000, and the National Defence Medal, in 2002.


- Decreto-Lei n.º 316/2002 de 27 de Dezembro - Regulamento da Medalha Militar e das Medalhas Comemorativas das Forças Armadas.
- Wikicommons

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário